Govind Bhagavatheeshwaran, Ph.D.

Headshot of Govind Bhagavatheeshwaran
Core Director and Senior Associate Scientist
Quantitative MRI (qMRI) Core Facility

BG 10 RM 5C440

Dr. Bhagavatheeshwaran earned his Bachelor of Technology in Biomedical Engineering from Cochin University of Science and Technology in India and his Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering from Drexel University in Philadelphia. He earned his Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering and Medical Physics from Worcester Polytechnic Institute and University of Massachusetts where he studied and developed Magnetic Resonance Imaging techniques for imaging the retina with Drs. Timothy Q. Duong, Michalle Pardue, and Michael Kuhar.

During his postdoctoral fellowship with Drs. Xiaoping Hu and Michael Benatar at Emory University, he worked on developing specialized magnetic resonance imaging techniques and markers of disease progression in patients affected by amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). He joined the National Institutes of Health in 2011 as a Staff Scientist. He has received the Dean’s Fellowship at Drexel University.

As an MRI physicist, Dr. Bhagavatheeshwaran‘s research focuses on techniques to improve the sensitivity and specificity of MRI in detecting changes in the neuronal microenvironment in neuroinflammatory diseases, which could help with understanding disease processes in-vivo. At present, his research focuses on developing quantitative MRI markers of disease progression in neuroinflammatory diseases such as multiple sclerosis, Human T-cell leukemia virus, type 1 or HTLV-1 associated myelopathy/tropical spastic paraparesis (HAM/TSP), Progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathy (PML), and neurocognitive impairments in HIV infection.

Current members:

  • Brandon Bujak (2024-present)
  • Caleb Atkins (2024-present)
  • Kapish Putula (2024-present)

Former members:

  • Jawad Aqeel (2020-21)
  • Henry Dieckhaus (2020-22, winner of Outstanding Poster Award at NIH Postbac Poster Day 2021)
  • Kendyl Bree (2021-23)
  • William Andrew Mullins (2022-23)
  • Roy Sun (2023-24)
  • Krishna Josyula (2023-24, winner of Outstanding Poster Award at NIH Postbac Poster Day 2024)

Click here for a full list of publications

Selected Publications: