Neuroimmunology and Neurovirology

Program Duration: 2-5 years

Image
FROM LEFT TO RIGHT: Intravital two-photon laser scanning microscopy; MS lesion segmentation; Neurogenesis in an HIV env transgenic animal
FROM LEFT TO RIGHT: Intravital two-photon laser scanning microscopy; MS lesion segmentation; Neurogenesis in an HIV env transgenic animal

This program trains Fellows in clinical and bench research as it relates to a variety of neuroimmune and virological disorders. Clinical research consists of natural history studies, development of novel biomarkers of disease activity, and therapeutic intervention using pharmacologic and biological approaches. Major emphasis is on clinical immunology and novel neuroradiological techniques. In addition to clinical rotations within the NIH Clinical Center, fellows will have the opportunity to rotate in affiliated academic centers including Georgetown University Hospital and Walter Reed National Military Medical Center. Bench research is largely focused on understanding disease pathophysiology but also includes novel pathogen discovery and drug development. The program has developed several disease models that include in vitro human brain models, iPS cells, rodent and simian models, and uses a variety of techniques such as intravital imaging, multicolor imaging flow cytometry, mass spectrometry and animal positron emission tomography (PET) and MRI scanning.

AREAS OF CURRENT RESEARCH

  • Multiple Sclerosis 
  • Progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathy (PML)
  • HTLV-I associated myelopathy/Tropical spastic paraparesis (HAM/TSP)
  • Human herpesvirus-6 associated neurologic disease
  • Lymphochoriomeningitis virus
  • Neurological complications of HIV infection
  • Endogenous retroviruses
  • Emerging viruses (Ebola, Zika, SARS-CoV-2)
  • Undiagnosed neuroimmune disorders
  • Autoimmune muscle disease
  • Chronic Fatigue Syndrome

FACULTY AND GME PAGE

TBD, Director, Neuroimmunology Clinic, NINDS

Irene Cortese, M.D., Assistant Clinical Investigator, Division of Neurovirology and Neuroimmunology, NINDS, corteseir@ninds.nih.gov

Steve Jacobson, Ph.D., Chief, Viral Immunology Section, NINDS, jacobsons@ninds.nih.gov

Eugene Major, Ph.D., Scientist Emeritus, Laboratory of Molecular Medicine and Neuroscience, NINDS, majorg@ninds.nih.gov

Dorian McGavern, Ph.D., Chief, Viral Immunology and Intravital Imaging Section, NINDS, mcgavernd@ninds.nih.gov

Avindra Nath, M.D., Chief, Section of Infections of the Nervous System, NINDS, natha@ninds.nih.gov

Daniel Reich, M.D., Ph.D., Chief, Translational Neuroradiology Unit, NINDS, reichds@ninds.nih.gov

Bryan Smith, M.D., Staff Clinician, Director, Neuro-HIV Clinic, NINDS, bryan.smith2@nih.gov

Ariane Soldatos, M.D., M.P.H., Staff Clinician, Undiagnosed Disease Program, NINDS, soldatosag@ninds.nih.gov

Andrew Mammen, M.D., Ph.D., Investigator, Muscle Disease Unit, Laboratory of Muscle Stem Cells and Gene Regulation, NINDS, andrew.mammen@nih.gov

Steven Holland, M.D., Distinguished Investigator, Immunopathogenesis Section, NIAID, sholland@niaid.nih.gov

Mike Lenardo, M.D., Chief, Molecular Development of the Immune System Section, NIAID, lenardo@nih.gov

Bridgette 'Jeanne' Billioux, M.D., Staff Clinician, Program in International Neuroinfectious Disease, Division of Neuroimmunology and Neurovirology, NINDS, bridgette.billioux@nih.gov

Lauren Bowen Reoma, M.D., Staff Clinician, Clinical Trials Unit, Office of the Clinical Director, NINDS, lauren.bowen@nih.gov